Cooking up activities for the Web
part of
TESOL 2002 InterSection #1977: Using technology to teach pronunciation

 

Holly Gray, American University
Sharon Alayne Widmayer, The George Washington University



A list of websites useful for teaching pronunciation (These sites were active as of April 3, 2002)

Pronunciation & Linguistics sites

Sounds of English (http://www.soundsofenglish.org)

Holly & Sharon's website. Audio, video, pictures, and diagrams of English pronunciation. Activities, exercises, links, and presentation handouts.  All of the exercises, handouts, and other materials from this presentation can be found here.

English Phonetic Alphabet 
(http://multiweb.lib.calpoly.edu/medialib/epa/index.html)

Provides a lot of useful materials: recorded segments, video clips of the oral tract, etc.

The ESL Pronunciation Page  (http://user.gru.net/richardx/pronounce1.html)

 

About.com's Pronunciation Page (http://esl.about.com/cs/pronunciation/)

 

ESL Independent Study Lab (http://www.lclark.edu/~krauss/toppicks/pronunciation.html)

 

Internet TESL Journal's list of Pronunciation links (http://www.aitech.ac.jp/~iteslj/links/ESL/Pronunciation/)

 

Speech Accent Archive (http://classweb.gmu.edu/accent/)

A great resource for examining accented English and predicting pronunciation problems 

fonetiks.org (http://fonetiks.org/index.html)

Pronunciation tutorials with sound clips for a variety of accents.

ELEaston Pronunciation (http://eleaston.com/pronunciation/)

In addition to other resources, this site provides quizzes.

 

 

Sites with Authentic Materials

 

Interviews and news

 

BBC World Service Sound Box- (http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/lzone/soundbox/index.htm)

Listening clips that provide a glimpse of the 20th century, including an announcement that JFK was shot, announcement of the beginning of WWII, etc. Transcripts and Real Audio.

National Public Radio (http://www.npr.org) 

 

BBC World Service - Home Page (http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/)

 

Car Talk  (http://cartalk.cars.com/Radio/) 

 

Hollywood Online -MovieTalk  (http://www.hollywood.com/movietalk/index.html)

Short interview clips with movie personalities.

The World (http://www.theworld.org/)

Public radio international news show.

Nightline (ABC news) 
(http://www.abcnews.go.com/onair/nightline/NightlineIndex.html)

Video clips of current events in RealAudio. Has some transcripts.

 

 

Weather

 

The weather channel (http://www.weather.com/)

 

 

 

Radio Drama

 

Shoe String Radio Theater (http://www.shoestring.org/listen.html)

Has several short 5 minute audio scenes in real media format.

The Mercury Theater on the Air (http://www.unknown.nu/mercury/)

This fabulous site includes Real Audio of famous radio plays produced by the Mercury Theater. It includes the original 1938 Broadcast of "The War of the Worlds." You will need to download a special font plug-in to view it.

Old Timer Radio (http://www.oldtimeradioprograms.com/)

Audio of old radio programs organized by genre.

One Act Plays (http://www.oneact.org/)

By a non-profit group called the One Act Players.

The Shadow RealAudio Radio Theater (http://www.shadowradio.org)

Features a different episode from the old radio show each day.

 

 

Speeches

 

Great Speeches -Presented by Elycia's Real Audio and the Chicago Law Network(http://www.chicago-law.net/speeches/speech.html)

The name says it all: decades of historic speeches and sound clips.

 

 

Songs

 

Billboard Top 100 (http://www.billboardradio.com) 

 

Instavid (http://www.instavid.com)

Videos of many different popular songs.  Requires Windows Media Player.

Real.com - Guide (http://realguide.real.com/music/)

 

 

 

Poetry

 

World Poetry Audio Archive (http://www.english.eku.edu/Pellegrino/worldpoetry/default.htm)

These are in wav format, read by an English professor, Joe Pellegrino.

The Academy of American Poets (http://www.poets.org/booth/booth.cfm)

Archive of Poetry with both text & audio usually read by the author.

Readings in Contemporary Poetry (http://www.diacenter.org/prg/poetry/audio.html)

A well-designed site with audio and text. From Dia Center for the Arts.

The Favorite Poem Project (http://www.favoritepoem.org/archive/)

Poet Laureate Robert Pinsky's ambitious audio/video project asks Americans to record their favorite poems. Here are videos of 50 Americans reading their favorite poems. Wow! What a great site. Listen to many different Americans and different regional accents. Learn why they love these poems.

Harper Audio (http://town.hall.org/radio/HarperAudio/)

Poetry and fiction read by the authors or by famous actors. Available in several formats.

 

 

Educational Video

 

BrainPop (http://www.brainpop.com/)

This site is aimed at kids, but the science related animations have real possibilities for the ESL classroom.